Pretty much just a placeholder.

Here’s what you need to do for a highly successful blog:
Write a really good (if I do say so myself, ahem) post that gets picked up as a Mumsnet Blog of the Day, gets tonnes of comments, views and follows….and then write absolutely nothing else for two weeks. Do not reply to any tweets, refollow any follows or reply to any blog comments at all.

BINGO! You too can make the most of this potentially fantastic situation to promote your blog and gain a wide audience.

Or, you know. Not.

Whoops.

For the record, I would like to say an incredibly large thank you to everyone who commented or tweeted or emailed me. I still can’t quite believe the response I got, and am very happy that so many people agreed with me.

For any new followers who might have signed up to some more, er, interesting than this type of posts….I do do them. Sometimes. I PROMISE I am not this bratty and moany all the time. Just you know, when I’m moving house.

So, sorry, but I am going to grumble just once more about how much time and effort and general GNAARRRRRR is involved in the seemingly simple process of selling one house and buying another. But that is frankly small change in the effort stakes once you have to apply for jobs and enter the murky world of Competency Based Interviews. They are….hard. They make you think in a way that involves that uses that mysterious unused 80% of your brain. They make you have to wear a suit and high heels and behave like an adult! They make your really appreciate wearing pyjamas till noon, watching Dinosaur Train episodes and eating rice cakes with a two year old.

It’s still not really dawned on me that we’re going to be moving fairly soon (fingers, toes, eyes, EVERYTHINGS crossed) and I am going to be in a new place, where I don’t know where to park or where the best place for coffee is or even where the post box is.

I am one of those obnoxious people who starts Christmas shopping in September (but only because, rather rudely, my husband, both my sisters, five of my nieces and nephews, three siblings in law and my dad ALL have their birthday in October and November) but this year, I just…can’t even. We will be in a different house for Christmas! I will be buying my presents in different shops, in different towns (or possibly, just off the internet like every other year) and I will be looking at twinkly Christmas lights go up in different places.

I am so excited about moving, but I am also very much over it now. We’ve been talking about this since April, when OH got his new job and it has gone from exciting, to stressful, to boring and then back and forth between all of those things a million times over.

For your sakes I hope something happens soon, just so I can write a decent blog about something hilarious and awesome again and not just another badly formatted set of complaints about being tired/busy/scared about moving/bored of packing/etc.

One thought on “Pretty much just a placeholder.

Leave a Reply

